Bookmark and Share
 

Blaze's Web Page

English Pointer  : :  Male  : :  Young  : :  Large


More Pics...

Bookmark and Share

My Rescue
Login to Remember your Favorite Animals and Breeds!

About Blaze

  • Status: Available for Adoption (adoption info)
  • Species: Dog
  • General Color: White with Brown or Chocolate
  • Current Size: 50 Pounds
  • Current Age: 2 Years 4 Months (born on 7/8/2019)
  • Housetrained: Yes

Hi there, my name is Blaze!!

I am a 2 year old English Pointer who is looking for my forever home!!  The first two years of my life were spent with a breeder in an outdoor kennel where I spent all of my time with very little human interaction and where I wasn’t sure if or when I would be fed next.  Thankfully, I was surrendered to some nice people at the shelter, where I was neutered, and I am now at my foster home in Omaha. Because I was in an outside kennel all the time, my foster parents have been working hard with me on my house training and basic commands and it has paid off!!  I am consistently now going to the door when I need to go out and I know how to sit. My foster parents are working with me on the stay and come commands now and I will do almost anything for an animal cracker (those are my favorite treats)!   My foster mom and dad have also helped me overcome my dislike/fear of crates and now for a treat, I willingly go into it now that I understand I won’t be left alone for extended periods of time all alone.  And when I’m tired, I actually enjoy going into my crate at bedtime and for naps!!

I am 46 pounds of love/spunk, super smart and a definite pleaser!! I love people and want to be with them and make them happy!   I love love tennis balls and chew toys!!  I do like to play fetch with a tennis ball for a while, but after a while,  if left to my own devices, what I really love to do with them is to systematically tear off the outer felt and bite them in half.   

I enjoy walks/runs and need consistent exercise and physical stimulation so, I don’t get bored and destroy things.  I have already adjusted to walking/running on a leash and my foster parents have been training me off leash on their invisible fence and I am a quick learner.  We haven’t gone truly off leash outside of my yard yet, but my foster mom and dad are working up to it and believe I will be ready soon. My foster parents believe I could be a great hunter if someone is willing to spend the time with me to train me, but even if I don’t hunt, I will be just as happy playing in a yard and being with my people. I love other dogs and kids, but the jury is out still on cats, as I really haven’t had any interaction with them up until now. I am still a bit skittish with loud noises and quick movements but am getting better.  Will you be the one to give me my forever home?  I promise you won’t regret it! 

 
Blaze is fostered in Omaha, NE. 
 
Complete the adoption form here : ADOPT ME
 
*Please be sure to read the adoption info/FAQ tab on our main website before applying for a dog. 

More about Blaze

Good with Dogs, Not Good with Cats, Good with Kids, Requires a yard, Cratetrained, Plays fetch, Likes to play with toys, Playful, Affectionate, Eager To Please, Intelligent

Other Pictures of Blaze (click to see larger version):

Blaze Blaze Blaze Blaze
Blaze Blaze Blaze Blaze
Blaze Blaze Blaze Blaze
Blaze Blaze