Bookmark and Share
 

Dakota's Web Page

German Shorthaired Pointer  : :  Female  : :  Adult  : :  Large


More Pics...

Bookmark and Share

My Rescue
Login to Remember your Favorite Animals and Breeds!

About Dakota

  • Status: Adopted!
  • Species: Dog
  • General Color: Black with White
  • Eye Color: Brown
  • Ear Type: Droopy
  • Tail Type: Docked
  • Current Size: 45 Pounds
  • Current Age: 3 Years 4 Months (best estimate)
  • Fence Required: Yes
  • Housetrained: Yes
  • Obedience Training Needed: Needs Training
  • Exercise Needs: High
  • Grooming Needs: Moderate
  • Shedding Amount: Moderate
  • Owner Experience Needed: Breed
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly
Hi! My name is Dakota and I'm 3 years young! Prior to coming to GPPR I had been an outdoor dog. My foster family doesn't know much about my past, but they know a lot about me now!  I'm learning the ropes of being an indoor dog. I'm pretty good about going potty outside, but we are still working on that too.  My foster family does not have fenced in yard, I usually hang out on my tie out or check out the yard on a leash. I do OK on the lead, but If I can't see you I get sad and will bark until you come back into sight. Sometimes I'll even dig in the yard, I just miss my family so much when they leave me, even for a few minutes!  
 
They take me to the local dog park to run off leash everyday! I LOVE it! I check out all of the small critters, I would LOVE to catch a bird, squirrel, cat... really anything smaller like that. I've been around smaller dogs at the dog park and I have done fine with them. I really enjoy running off leash and I've been lucky as my foster mom has been able to work from home recently. Most days we get to go to the dog park twice a day! I would make a good running partner, my mom takes me rollerblading and I just love to run!  I run about an hour a day and I know I could run longer if given the chance!!!

I have pretty good indoor manners, it's quite surprising knowing I spent most of my time outside. I spend a lot of time checking all of the windows in the house and hunting those critters. Have I mentioned that I like small critters? They are just so much fun to watch and chase!  Our neighbor will shoot a gun, this doesn't scare me. My foster family has not had a gun shot directly over me.  I hope my forever family can help teach me new commands as well. I cannot run off leash without a fence. I would probably follow that critter and not stop.  I currently live with a 2 year old toddler and I can get pretty excited and knock him down.  I do pull on a leash, but we do work on this and I know I will need further help.  I am crate trained and do really well in my crate! I will sleep in there at night as well, but I could handle sleeping with my humans too! I hope to meet you soon and join your family!  
 
Dakota is located in Minnesota.
 
Complete the adoption form here : ADOPT ME
 
*Please be sure to read the adoption info/FAQ tab on our main website before applying for a dog. 

More about Dakota

Good with Dogs, Not Good with Cats, Good with Kids, Good with Adults, Somewhat vocal, Does Good in the Car, Requires a yard, Leashtrained, Cratetrained, Needs special care

Other Pictures of Dakota (click to see larger version):

Dakota Dakota Dakota